Skip to content

My B Day Concept

December 10, 2009

It’s already 11 hours past since a new year has been added to my existence. And am not even sure what to write here. So I guess i’ll try to start off by recalling what transpired in the past years. Where to start, I don’t know… well, here goes…

In the previous years, the day usually started with a morning visit to the tomb of my twin brother Jon. He passed away 10 years ago due to fatal arrhythmia (this I learned just recently from my mom). A rosary and a prayer of remembrance, then afterwards, my parents and I would usually sing happy birthday to him. And i know he’d be delighted by it. From there, I go to work while my parents would go home to our house in Manila to prep for some handaan in the evening. When evening came, of course, close friends would be there to share some of the sumptuous food Mama bought from Meal To Go, or sometimes catered. I’d say oftentimes medyo bongga ang celebration since it’s not just me who’s celebrating or my late brother, but also my late Lola Pem! So triple the celebration, one is here, and the other 2 is “up” there! Ang eerie ng idea but equally fun! And I’m sure they have plenty of food to spare there because the Master usually provides a feast!

I usually love treating my family to something far different than just going to the mall and dine in. That’s why last year, I took my family and some relatives to a mid-morning trip to Tagaytay, just in time for lunch at Josephine’s. I had a blast celebrating then. Apart from the food, the place, and the cool weather, it was fun to see my former yayas become local tourists (first -timers po kaya picture at pose galore sila ha!). But more than that, I enjoyed the luxury of being with Kaye and my 3 kids, Kara, Jeremy and Cassie on my special day. My Ate Kara also had a share of fun, specially during the pichur-pichur moment with the Taal Volcano behind us and suddenly Cassie pulling her hair. Picture moment talaga!

And the fun didn’t end there. We still went to Residence Inn for the mini zoo tour. Ate Kara had been there a couple of times. But this time was different. She had a moment of feeding a baby tiger, and even had a corn python slinged around our necks. Jeremy and Cassie also had an immersion experience with the animals around the zoo with Kaye. And to cap the whole birthday treat, on our way home we passed by Mushroom Burger for some afternoon snacks and takeouts.

In all these things, I guess my idea of celebrating a birthday is not about me treating myself. But it’s a day where I consciously give back to people I most care about something that they deserve because of what they have made me become for the past year. So like instead of buying myself something, I buy something for Kaye such as a book or maybe a watch. Or wanting myself to have fun, I’d rather let my kids have all the fun they want. And it’s really a different kind of satisfaction I get every time this day comes. And frankly, I couldn’t get enough of it ‘coz every year, things just keep getting better and better! Blessed ba ‘ko? Maybe. But more than that, fulfilling is more proper because I always get to share my day with them.

So as half of my day has passed, am still thinking what’s in store later? Hmmm… still don’t know actually. But one thing for sure, I’ll be seeing my Kaye early tonight for a cozy, quiet dinner and hopefully catch the kids still awake back home so I could hear them again say “Happy Birthday Daddy! Yayu (love you ni Cassie) Ichu (love you ni Jem) and love you Dad (ni Ate Kara)!”

34 Comments leave one →
  1. kaye permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:50p12

    at shempre, ang I love you, Dad galing sa akin. may kasamang hug at kiss pa yan. πŸ™‚

    iniisip ko pa talaga kung san tayo mamaya. but I know wherever that may be, it will be a happy one because we’ll be together. wow. dinner date ito! hehe

    can’t wait to see you later, baby…

    • December 10, 2009 12:50p12

      waw! kakaiba ang tawag mo sa kin baby ehehehe! feeling ko ang haba bigla ng her ko! hehehe πŸ˜€

      see you tonight Be! mwah!

  2. iluzionada permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:50p12

    kakahiya mag-comment, parang usisera ako. happy birthday, be, ay bong pala hahahaha!!!

    • kaye permalink
      December 10, 2009 12:50p12

      wahahaha! hang kulit mo, mare!

    • December 10, 2009 12:50p12

      nyahaha! salamat! akshuwali, ang Be ay si Kaye… kaya ok lang magamit mo… hehehe! tenks sa pagtambay kahit sandali

  3. December 10, 2009 12:50p12

    Happy, happy, happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • December 10, 2009 12:50p12

      tenchu tenchu tenchu tenchu po!!! next time na treat ‘pag nag EB na lahat. πŸ˜€

  4. December 10, 2009 12:50p12

    Happy birthday Kuya Bong! πŸ™‚

    • December 11, 2009 12:50p12

      tenks Aina! so wats your gip por me? hehehe joke lang!

      • December 11, 2009 12:50p12

        Gaya po ng sabi ko sa blog ni Ate Kaye, ang gift ko sa inyo ay virtual cookie! Wahaha! Though it would be nice to have coffee with you guys sometime. Hehehe. πŸ˜€

  5. December 11, 2009 12:50p12

    happy birthday bongkitz!!! mabuhay ka!!!

    • December 11, 2009 12:50p12

      tenks fads! always always lagi buhay ang diwa’t isipan para sa sarili at sa aking mahal na asawa at pamilya! pagpray nyo po kami lagi fads ha!

      ngatsi! πŸ˜€

  6. December 11, 2009 12:50p12

    ewan ko kung kelan pa tong birthday mo. baka nga late na ako kasi ngayon lang kita nakilala.. belated happy birthday and advance merry christmas to you. Orville here.

    • December 22, 2009 12:50p12

      hi orville! salamat sa pagbati. sorry ngayon ko lang nakita message mo kasi napunta sa spam di ko alam kung bakit. nung December 10 po. di pa naman huli. hehehe!

      dalaw ako syo one time. (baka mamaya!) work lang ako… haaayyy… sana bakasyon na. kayo ba bakasyon na sa work / school?

  7. December 11, 2009 12:50p12

    Haberbei! Haberbei! Haberbei! πŸ™‚

    • December 22, 2009 12:50p12

      hi vaj! tenchu! tenchu! tenchu! meri krismas in advance syo! hehehe! πŸ˜€

  8. kaspangarigan permalink
    December 11, 2009 12:50p12

    Sarap naman ng escapades niy0.

    Puede mo ba akong isama sa itinerary mo?

    • December 22, 2009 12:50p12

      helo kaspangarigan! bakit hindi?!? pag naset yung DQ EB party join na! hehehe πŸ˜€

  9. December 12, 2009 12:50p12

    Maligayang Kaarawan pareng Bong.

    Maligaya ka talaga. Mabuhay si Bong, at hahaba pa ang kaniyang her.

    • December 22, 2009 12:50p12

      salamat J.Kul! talagang haba her ko kasi nadagdagan na naman ng karanasan ang buhay ko. salamat kay Lord dahil lagi syang nandyan at nakaantabay sa kin. at kay Kaye at sa mga anak kong sina Kara, Jemy at Cassie, wala na kong mahihinging pinakamagandang regalo maliban sa pamilya ko na kapiling sa aking kaarawan.

      kumusta na? meri krismas in advance!

  10. December 14, 2009 12:50p12

    wow happy birthday po!! sarap na naamng basahin ang kwentong ganito, sobrang family oriented talaga! hays! =)

    Cheers! God Bless!

  11. December 14, 2009 12:50p12

    picture! picture! picture!

  12. Mr. Nonsense permalink
    December 15, 2009 12:50p12

    walang pictures?
    anyway, ayaw namin ng details tungkol sa anong nangyari pagkatulog ng mga bata sa gabi…

    • kaye permalink
      December 17, 2009 12:50p12

      eto talaga. ayan na nga sa taas ang link eh… adik ka na talaga fafa jesse

  13. December 21, 2009 12:50p12

    makiki-happy birthday na din ako hahaha. Ok ang itinerary nyo. Maganda yan na strong ang bonding ng family nyo. At ang cute mag i-love-you ng mga kids πŸ˜€

    • December 22, 2009 12:50p12

      hey Jason! salamat sa pagbati at pagdalaw!

      oo iba nga kapag sariling dugo’t laman mo na yung iniintindi mo. at nakakaheaven lagi kapag naririnig mong magsabi sila ng I love you sa ‘yo in response sa pagsabi mo rin sa kanila.

      sana masaya rin ang family mo lalo ngayong Pasko! Merry Christmas! dalaw ulit ako sa ‘yo later. work lang muna. hehehe! πŸ˜€

  14. December 24, 2009 12:50p12

    the best of all gifts around any Christmas tree: the presence of a happy family all wrapped up in each other.

    merry christmas kaye, bongkito and kids!!! God bless +

    • December 28, 2009 12:50p12

      thanks fads! kayo rin sana pinagpala ng isang masayang Pasko at masaganang buhay sa darating ng Bagong Taon! Ingat lagi po!

  15. December 24, 2009 12:50p12

    Hi Bongkito, padaan lang at pabati ng Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    • December 28, 2009 12:50p12

      salamat Jason sa pagdaan. Merry Christmas din sa yo and sa family mo! Sorry wala pa ko latest post. Hopefully soon… ingats!

Leave a Reply

